Uncle

The Green Lantern is gay

Green Lantern

Green Lantern (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I admit, I get a perverse joy out of this.

The Green Lantern was my uncle’s favorite comic book characater. Yes, that uncle.

My uncle was – weird as it may sound – kind of a big deal in the comic book world. Apparently he started comic book fandom back in the late 50s or early 60s and every science fiction or comic book convention held is a descendent from the first convention my uncle put together god knows when. He’s not only in the Who’s Who of comic geekdom, he wrote it.

So, yes. The Green Lantern is gay, according to DC Comics. And this delights me.

Of course, my uncle made noises about being pro-gay rights. He also talked a good game about not beating women and, I’m sure, about not harming kids.

I hope the gay Green Lantern gives him indegestion in the great beyond.

Leave a Reply

